The Jerez gate is one of the most important and emblematic monuments of the town. After the Christian conquest the walls were extended and the Jerez gate was opened.
In the year 2000 it was restored enabling a space for the art collection "El Cristo de Los Vientos" work of the Tarifa based artist Guillermo Pérez Villalta. An in-scripted shield commemorates the capture of the town in 1292 by Sancho IV el Bravo.
The trail starts at the tourist information office located in el paseo de la Alameda, which used to be a hermitage dedicated to the Virgin of the sun, protector of sailors. This hermitage was located on the plot that is now occupied by the tourist information office, also originally the public library. .
Turning left we enter the old town, passing by the market place which has been in use since 1928, although the building dates from 1536 as a convent. Its origins were as the convent of the holy Trinity of the barefoot Trinitarians, a religious order whose main mission was to rescue captives from Berber pirates.
Passing by the squares: San Martín, San Hiscio, calle del Lorito. Calle San Francisco is a touristy and typical pedestrianised street, lined with a number of bars and restaurants and is an ideal place to pass the Tarifa nights. On the left it joins la Calzada, Tarifas main street, the wide and lively hub of the town, where we can have a drink and sample some of the tasty cakes and sweets made in Tarifa and renowned in the entire province of Cádiz. Next is San Mateo church, a Gothic structure finished in the sixteenth century which holds various Baroque paintings and sculptures of interest, including several objects of gold and silver work.
Opposite the church´s façade we turn right towards the casino, royal prison and Plaza de la Fuente which boasts the first running water fountain installed in Tarifa in 1831. Climbing up to the left towards Plazuela del Viento we find El Mirador del Estrecho, a look out nestled in the wall. The town hall is also located up here in Plaza de Santa Maria (or de ranita). Going down the steps and turning left, at the end of the street is Guzmán el Bueno castle. Built in the year 960 by order of the Caliph Aderraman III, it was built upon the ruins of a suspected Roman military camp. Recent archaeological excavations in the castle have unearthed vestiges from the bronze age, from the Punic and Iberian era and from the high and low Roman empire since its initial Republican stage.
After the Christian conquest in 1294 by King Sancho IV El Bravo an event occurred which made the name of Tarifa known worldwide, namely the heroics of Guzmán El Bueno, who chose to sacrifice his son rather than surrender the castle entrusted to him by the king to the Muslims.
We then follow the street along to the church San Francisco notable for its Baroque and Neoclassic style.
Heading back to the castle with the door on our left hand side, we continue straight on, passing by the Fishing Gate, and come across Santa Catalina castle. Built in the second decade of the twentieth century in Renaissance style, it is rumoured that in the same spot in the sixteenth century there once stood a hermitage.
Continuing on to the road that goes to Paloma Island is the southernmost point of Europe, separating the Mediterranean from the Atlantic Ocean. In 1808 the road to the island was built, which until then had been separated from Tarifa. At the entrance to the island are some stunning views to the African continent. Connecting to the beach front promenade which leads to the Football ground, you can continue along the coast (National park of the Straits of Gibraltar) on a track made of wooden gangplanks until you reach the Vega river.
Text from http://www.aytotarifa.com/Turismo/quehacer.html